Fortune Favours The Brave (or: The beginning of the Great Escape)

Standard

This is part one of what I’m calling my “Great Escape”. Or perhaps ‘adventure’ is a more accurate term? I don’t believe I’m running from anything, but rather running to everything else, head first into the abyss of the unknown so to speak.

Part one marks the day I received my re-newed New Zealand passport in the mail. It’s all fancy and shiny black with the silver fern on both covers. Aside from my drowsy-eyed, wonky expression in the photo, finally getting my passport done is indeed very exciting.

passport!Ideas for where I’m going next year (March) are still very much open and I have absolutely nothing confirmed (besides the date). But in order to keep my mother happy, I have to wait until after Christmas to book anything, for she (as mothers do) always, always fear the worst when their youngest not only leaves home, but leaves the country.

Anyhow, I’ve decided to give myself two months to plan (deciding all the where, when, hows, why’s etc, though I tend to not put too much thought into the ‘why’s these days – thinking too much leads to self-doubt in my opinion!) until the end of January, at which time I will be booking flights, accommodation etc, sorting and packing my stuff into take/leave piles, or rather keep/sell piles, and preparing for the biggest adventure of my life.

I already know where part two is taking me: the arrival of my British passport, because travel will be oh so much easier with one those!

In the words of Pierre Corneille: “If there is no peril in the fight, there is no glory in the triumph.”

=D

Leave a comment